Established in 2010 by the Henry Wise Wood Graduating Class of 1970, this scholarship recognizes graduating students who have made major contributions to the school and the student body at large, who may not be recognized by or through other formal scholarship programs.


Henry Wise Wood Graduating Class of 1970

Where Tenable

Henry Wise Wood High School

Field of Study







Open to students registered in grade 12 at Henry Wise Wood High School who are completing the requirements of a high school diploma. Applicants must have marks sufficient for entrance to a post‐secondary area of study.
To be considered for this award, applicants must:
1. Demonstrate outstanding ability, achievement, leadership, citizenship, unbridled energy and enthusiasm and excellence of service to the school and community throughout Grades 11 & 12.
2. Demonstrate goals and a future plan, plus strong personal skills and character and overall good attitude.
3. The recipient(s) must not hold any other scholarship(s) or award(s) in excess of
$2,000 individually or $4,000 cumulatively, with the exception of the Alexander Rutherford Scholarship and any post‐secondary entrance awards. Students must notify EducationMatters of other awards won.
Selection will be based on staff recommendations and confirmation of pursuit of post‐ secondary education, with a preference for students with financial and socio‐economic need and/or other special circumstances specific to that student / family.


Online application available at Applicants should check with their guidance office for more information and are encouraged to discuss their application with the Scholarship Coordinator at their high school.

Selection & Payment

Recipients are notified by September. To claim the award, within twelve (12) months of notification of award, the recipient must be registered in an eligible program of post‐ secondary study in Canada of at least two years duration. Payments are made to the post‐secondary institution.


May 30

To download a printable PDF of the terms of reference for this award click here.