Search Icon
Girl reading


CBE Distinguished Alumni Award

The Calgary Board of Education (CBE) Distinguished Alumni Award was created in 2002 to recognize alumni who have achieved exemplary success in their life and professional career. Success is achieved and measured in many ways. It can be personal, academic or professional achievement, engaging in meaningful community service, a career or vocation, making a significant positive contribution to society, and helping others achieve and meet success by giving back to city, province, country, and the world.

The award is now known as the CBE Legacy Award. For information on the award, including the nomination process, please visit the CBE’s website by clicking here.

Previous Award Recipients

2002: Mr. Peter Lougheed

2003: Mrs. Marg Southern

2004: Mr. Jim Dinning

2005: The Honourable Norman L. Kwong, CM, AOE, Lieutenant Governor of Alberta

2006: Dr. Martha Cohen, CM

2007: Dr. Margaret (Marmie) Hess & Mr. Allan Markin

2008: Ms. Joanne Cuthbertson & Mr. Charlie Fischer

2009: Mr. Steve Allan

2010: Mr. Doug Mitchell, AOE, QC

2011: Mrs. Peggy Valentine (posthumously) & Master Corporal (Ret) Paul Franklin

2012: Mr. Paul Brandt, Mr. George Gosbee, & Mr. Quincy Smith

2013-14: Mr. & Mrs. Brian and Stephanie Felesky

2014-15: Dr. Gerald Hankins, Mr. George Brookman, & Ms. Kaillie Humphries